Harlan Parker Banks

Harlan Parker Banks (September 1, 1913 – November 22, 1998) was an American paleobotanist and Liberty Hyde Bailey Professor Emeritus in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University, known for his studies of Devonian plants. A Fulbright Research Scholar and Guggenheim Fellow, he was a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the National Academy of Science, and president of the Botanical Society of America.[1] The standard author abbreviation H.P.Banks is used to indicate this individual as the author when citing a botanical name.[2]

^ John Kingsbury, Karl Niklas, Natalie Uhl. “Harlan Parker Banks Memorial Statement”. Cornell University, Office of the Dean of the University Faculty.  CS1 maint: Uses authors parameter (link)
^ IPNI.  H.P.Banks. 


Presidents of the Botanical Society of America


William Trelease (1894)
Charles Edwin Bessey (1895)
John Merle Coulter (1896)
Nathaniel Lord Britton (1897)
Lucien Marcus Underwood (1898)
Benjamin Lincoln Robinson (1899)
Byron Halsted (1900)
Joseph Charles Arthur (1901)
Beverly Thomas Galloway (1902)
Charles Reid Barnes (1903)
Robert Almer Harper (1904)
William Ashbrook Kellerman (1905)
Franklin Sumner Earle (1906)
George Francis Atkinson (1907)
William Francis Ganong (1908)
Roland Thaxter (1909)
Erwin Frink Smith (1910)
William Gilson Farlow (1911)
Lewis Ralph Jones (1912)
Douglas Houghton Campbell (1913)
A. S. Hitchcock (1914)
John Merle Coulter (1915)
Robert Almer Harper (1916)
Frederick Charles Newcombe (1917)
William Trelease (1918)
Joseph Charles Arthur (1919)
Nathaniel Lord Britton (1920)
Charles Elmer Allen (1921)
Henry Chandler Cowles (1922)
Benjamin Minge Duggar (1923)
William Chambers Coker (1924)


Jacob R. Schramm (1925)
Liberty Hyde Bailey (1926)
Harley Harris Bartlett (1927)
Arthur Henry Reginald Buller (1928)
Margaret Clay Ferguson (1929)
Lester W. Sharp (1930)
Charles Joseph Chamberlain (1931)
George James Peirce (1932)
Ezra Jacob Kraus (1933)
Elmer Drew Merrill (1934)
Aven Nelson (1935)
C. Stuart Gager (1936)
Edmund Ware Sinnott (1937)
Arthur Johnson Eames (1938)
Karl McKay Wiegand (1939)
Edgar Nelson Transeau (1940)
John Theodore Buchholz (1941)
Merritt Lyndon Fernald (1942)
William Jacob Robbins (1943)
Gilbert Morgan Smith (1944)
Irving Widmer Bailey (1945)
Neil Everett Stevens (1946)
Ralph Erskine Cleland (1947)
Henry Allan Gleason (1948)
Ivey Fore

Published by